I woke up at six this morning, made coffee, read and wrote notes for three hours, took care of office work, ate a peach, a banana, some strawberries, a handful of dry cereal, went to the library, stared at the screen, went to the office in the attic of what I’m pretty sure used to be a brothel, got a splinter from the sheet of plywood I set up as a desk, wrote for another three hours, had a cookie, a cup of coffee, wrote some more, called a friend, called a parent, came back to the house, stood over the sink and ate a salad of mostly spinach and broccoli, weighed the pros and cons of making a press pot of coffee at 9:30 at night, had some juice instead, and then sat back down in front of the keys. I figure I have another two hours in me before rinse, wash, repeat for the next seven days. Bad habits die hard and big projects bring them out like nothing else.

