At my last staff meeting I was asked to say some parting words, to share a bit about what I’ve learned in my tenure. They said it didn’t have to be much. I could keep it short and sweet.

I said:

“Thank you for sharing your days with me.”

“I love this work. Telling stories, shaping words, it’s one of the best jobs in the world.”

“Where not performing heart surgery. Remember it can be fun. Have a sense of humor and don’t take it, or yourself, so seriously.”

“There’s nothing wrong with wearing jeans to work.”

“Be the light. Be the person people want to share their work with, the person they trust to tell their story.”

“Spend more time outside. Talk to people in real life. Don’t just email. Walk over and say hello.”

“I’m very proud to have been part of this group.”

Then, I said goodbye. Here we go.

 

